Direct Action Against JCPenney!

In 2011, JCPenney scored a 100 on the Human Rights Campaign’s (HRC) Corporate Equality Index. During 2011, JCP formed a partnership with the Salvation Army that happens to be an anti-LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer) hate group. Thus, HRC should reduce JCP’s score, nevertheless HRC has not taken any action against JCP, and even worse HRC has not raised any concerns about JCP’s actions.

I propose as active member of OccupyEquality that we establish a direct action campaign against JCPenney for their support and partnership with the Salvation Army. I believe that this direct action campaign should include a boycott of JCP and a petition against JCP to pull their support and end their partnership with the Salvation Army.

I propose that in addition to the direct action campaign we should take up a social media campaign against JCPenney. I believe that this campaign should include but not limited to posting on JCP’s Facebook page demanding that JCP remove their support of the Salvation Army and we should share their links stating what JCP is doing.

I propose that while we take direct action against JCPenney we protest their working conditions and their low wages. I believe we must do this because of the way many good employees are treated while working for JCP and because of how low their wages were. I personally have experience in those said hostile working condition. I was hired at a JCP store in August of 2010 and was forced to quit in November of 2011. During my time at JCP, as an openly transgender-genderqueer employee, fellow employees and management without means of remedy constantly faced me with harassment and discrimination.  I also happened to have a lower wage then my fellow employees. Nevertheless, we I did file harassment and discrimination reports, I was informed that I simply should no express myself at work while my fellow employees were allowed to do so.

JCPenney openly harasses and discriminates against persons for being transgender-genderqueeer. We must end these harmful actions. Rise against these corporations.

Leave a Reply

